Intelligent Criminal Defense For Clients Throughout McLean County

A DUI Doesn’t Have To Slow You Down

Getting pulled over and arrested for a DUI is a classic example of a simple mistake that can change your life. But it doesn’t have to.

With the right help, a DUI charge doesn’t have to affect your future. You can leave these charges behind you.

What Are The Consequences?

While a DUI might seem like a relatively simple or harmless criminal charge to some, many don’t understand the consequences of being convicted. A DUI charge can lead to one, if not more of the following in Illinois and McLean County:

  • License suspension from three months all the way up to 10 years.
  • Mandatory alcohol education or treatment.
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
  • Up to a year in jail, or longer if this is a second or subsequent offense.
  • Up to a $2,500 fine, or more if this is a second or subsequent offense.
  • Loss of opportunities for students, including loss of scholarships and access to student aid, loans and grants.

I can help you fully understand what you’re up against. Schedule a consultation with me and I can tell you just what to expect. I can also help you craft a defense that can help you avoid some or even all of the above consequences.

Potential First-Time DUI/DWI Penalties

A first DUI offense is typically a misdemeanor. Penalties may include up to a year in jail, fines up to $2,500 and license suspension. Aggravating factors like these can worsen your circumstances, leading to steeper penalties or felony charges:

  • Driving without a license
  • Causing bodily injury or harm
  • Having minors in the vehicle
  • Measuring a BAC over 0.16%

Subsequent DUI convictions may mean more jail time, tens of thousands in fines and a long license suspension, among other penalties.

Illinois Dram Shop And Social Host DUI Liability

Dram shop laws hold establishments that serve alcohol to visibly intoxicated individuals liable if they cause another harm (DUI crash, etc.). Illinois social host liability laws penalize adults who knowingly allow minors to drink on their premises. These laws could impact your situation.

For instance, the family of someone killed or gravely injured in a DUI accident caused by overserving can file a lawsuit against the responsible parties (social host, bartender, you, etc.). If they win, you could be liable for a portion of any financial damages awarded.

Illinois Breathalyzer Refusal Law

Refusing a Breathalyzer in Illinois invokes the implied consent law and a possible one-year license suspension for first-time offenders. Subsequent refusals can result in a three-year suspension. These penalties apply even if you are acquitted of DUI charges. It is the refusal that leads to the penalties.

Do I Need An Attorney?

A criminal charge of any kind can follow you around for the rest of your life. Even a seemingly minor charge like a DUI can have a lasting effect on you, from limiting job prospects, to affecting your insurance rates.

In all cases, when facing a criminal charge, you need to consult with a criminal defense attorney. An attorney like me can help you mitigate or even avoid charges. In some cases, I may be able to prevent your case from going to trial.

I spent the first three years of my criminal defense career in the traffic courtrooms of McLean County Illinois and I have a comprehensive understanding of how these systems work. I can help keep your future bright and protect your license and your livelihood.

Let’s Talk About Protecting Your Future

If you’ve been pulled over and arrested for a DUI, get in touch with me as soon as possible. I can evaluate your situation and help you determine your next steps. Call the Law Offices of Bryan J McIntyre at 309-807-9837 to set up a consultation or use my online contact form for easy communication.